Word Reverting to Merge Fields

Ran into this rather bizarre problem with a client today. They have a lovely merge document that my program creates for them in Word. It has a header that looks like this:

clip1

In some cases, the user will go in and make changes to this document after it’s created. They might delete the last couple paragraphs for example. When they do that, the header in the document will suddenly turn to this:

clip2

The merged data disappears and Word reverts to merge fields!

Googling “deleting lines in Word document causes merged data to revert to a merge field” didn’t turn up anything.

Playing around with it, I discovered that it only happened if you deleted to the very end of the document. Curiously, at the end of the document was a single, invisible character. As long as that isn’t deleted, the merged data stays put.

clip3

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s